We Like You, But We’re Hiring My Husband’s Cousin’s Daughter’s Friend’s Brother Instead!

Years ago I worked as an on-call production assistant and subbed in when the full-time PA wanted to party on the holidays. Eventually she left and i got an email from my supervisor one Friday evening offering the lucrative (fancy word for shitty) full-time position to me!

I immediately responded with a yes, and called back first thing Monday to reiterate my acceptance, to which she apologetically replied that there was confusion at the office regarding choosing someone to hire, and that while she thought she had the green light to hire me, the studio executive (fancy word for dickhead) decided to hire her daughter’s boyfriend (who had no experience or knowledge about the studio) instead!

About Jimmy vs. World!
Man chases his dreams. Life punches his face. Series and blog created by Los Angeles-based animator Sean Rohani

2 Responses to We Like You, But We’re Hiring My Husband’s Cousin’s Daughter’s Friend’s Brother Instead!

  1. dbubble12 says:

    It’s pretty sad that the saying “it’s not what you know it’s who you know” can give the wrong person opportunities that they’ve never worked for. Whatever makes “dickhead” happy, I guess. Thank you for following my blog. I’m am enjoying your humorous, interesting site.

    • Yeah, unfortunately people have been sending me some pretty brutal stories… but it doesn’t hurt to laugh about them (after the appropriate amount of shouting/screaming/crying from being treated this way, of course). I’m glad you’re enjoying it! And I’m looking forward to many more fun photos and posts on your blog!

Send us your comments, yo! (Email not required)

